This review may well, and probably does, contain spoilers for books in the Morganville series up to 6.

Overall [rating:4]
Author: Rachel Caine
 The Morganville Vampires #4-6
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Age Group: Young Adult
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Pages: 896
Published: 2011
Source: Review copy from publisher
Goodreads | Amazon (UK) | Book Depository

First sentence:

It was hard to imagine how Claire’s day – even by Morganville standards – could get any worse…and then the vampires holding her hostage wanted breakfast.

In Morganville, vampires and humans have learnt to coexist in (relatively) bloodless harmony. That is until Bishop arrives, a master vampire determines to abolish order, revive the forces of the evil dead and let chaos rule.

College student Claire Danvers and her friends are the only ones who stand in his way. Defending their town against evil forces natural and unnatural, Claire and her friends must forge alliances with old enemies and conquer massive odds . . . or see Morganville and its inhabitants obliterated for good.


The Morganville omnibus editions published by Allison & Busby are gorgeous. They sent over volume 2, which features books 4-6 (Feast of Fools, Lord of Misrule, and Carpe Corpus), to me for review and I pretty much fell in love with it. The cover is fairly similar to the other UK editions of Morganville but the book’s appearance is more than that. The blue coloured page edges look fantastic with the blue foil decoration on the cover, and it’s no secret that I have a thing for coloured page edges, it also includes a ribbon and when you remove the jacket, there is also printed foiling on the hardback cloth. I love it.

Feast of Fools


Feast of Fools is my favourite Morganville book so far, definitely. I totally have a thing for masked balls. Rachel Caine’s wit is as strong as ever and so much happened. I know a fair few of you aren’t keen on stories with too many different storylines being covered simultaneously due to the confusion it can cause but I personally find this series so easy to follow. It keeps the plot constantly moving forward and varied so that it’s never boring.

In Feast of Fools we meet Mr. Bishop, Amelie’s oppressive father. We know he’s something big and bad because the vampires are all afraid of him, to the point that even Amelie and Oliver team up together. Claire becomes involved in the top secret vampire stuff yet the people around her still treat her like a kid, including Shane, her boyfriend, who won’t go past kissing. It’s very nice but something about that situation doesn’t feel quite right, they’re both teenagers! He is very sweet though, you do pretty much adore him.

The entire novel all just feels as though it’s building up to something, especially when everybody but Claire seem to be invited to this feast, and every one of them invited by a vampire.

Lord of Misrule


Lord of Misrule is basically a big battle preparation between the two sides, Amelie’s and Bishop’s, with some of the humans tired of being the pawns and taking up their own little rebellions. There’s an exciting build up and more and more of the vampires inner secrets are revealed, finally. I never cease to be amazed how amongst this vast array of characters, none of them come across as being flat. Everybody has a story to tell and that really brings the series to life. It’s pretty impressive. There is a lot of chaos and a pretty huge ending.

Carpe Corpus


Carpe Corpus was a little darker than the previous Morganville novels and a little bit depressing to start with, what with the characters so divided and Claire feeling so lost. I struggled with it for a bit but thankfully it does pick up when it is revealed that not all is exactly as it seems and I was extremely glad I kept at it. The novel focuses a lot on coming back from the disaster of the past 2 novels and Claire moves in the social pecking order from being the kid in way over her head to the “enemy”, or a line to Bishop. This one’s ending was rounded off quite nicely and was perhaps the smallest cliffhanger so far.

Overall, the second Morganville omnibus is definitely worth getting your hands on. Not only is it pretty with its’ coloured page edges and attached ribbon, but it’s a good chunk of Morganville.

The Morganville Vampires series:

1. Glass Houses
2. The Dead Girls’ Dance
3. Midnight Alley
4. Feast of Fools
5. Lord of Misrule
6. Carpe Corpus
7. Fade Out
8. Kiss Of Death
9. Ghost Town
10. Bite Club
11. Last Breath
12. Black Dawn
13. Bitter Blood
14. Fall of Night
15. Daylighters