This review may well contain spoilers for the Soul Screamers series up to book 2.

Author: Rachel Vincent
 Soul Screamers #2
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Age Group: Young Adult
Publisher: MiraInk
Pages: 362
Published: 2011 (UK)
Source: Personal copy
Goodreads | Amazon (UK/US) | Book Depository

First sentence:

Addison Page had the world at her feet.

When Kaylee Cavanaugh screams, someone dies.

So when teen pop star Eden croaks onstage and Kaylee doesn’t wail, she knows something is dead wrong. She can’t cry for someone who has no soul.

The last thing Kaylee needs right now is to be skipping school, breaking her dad’s ironclad curfew and putting her too-hot-to-be-real boyfriend’s loyalty to the test. But starry-eyed teens are trading their souls: a flickering lifetime of fame and fortune in exchange for eternity in the Netherworld—a consequence they can’t possibly understand.

Kaylee can’t let that happen, even if trying to save their souls means putting her own at risk…


My Soul to Save continues almost two months after where My Soul to Take left off and I found it even more unputdownable. I’m not sure exactly why. Perhaps it’s because we now know Kaylee and Nash, we’ve been through Kaylee’s discovery of her bean sidhe powers, and now we’re able to follow the stories and properly connect with the characters. You don’t just want to know what happens next, you need to know.

We find out a little more about the Netherworld and even see a little of it. This is something I’d been looking forward to and was not disappointed. It’s chilling and entirely nightmarish, and I fell a little bit in love with it. The creatures within are creepy, the landscape is like something from a Salvador Dali painting, and even the plant life is scary! It is not a place to venture into lightly.

There are more interesting characters in My Soul to Save, as well. We met a few in My Soul to Take, such as Tod, but they are built upon further in this book. Tod we know to be Nash’s dead bean sidhe brother, but we start to see his human side which didn’t really show so much before. He becomes a more solid part of the Soul Screamers series as opposed to simply a side character and I really like that. His personality is fun to read as he continually causes mischief to keep himself entertained. We also meet Addy, Tod’s ex girlfriend who happens to have sold her soul for fame and fortune, unknowingly condemning herself to eternal damnation by demand of Dekker media. The thing I loved the most about this particular storyline was how big a pop at Disney it was! It really made me giggle until it was revealed exactly how dark it really was. Libby the 3,000 year old reaper was also pretty awesome. Despite not meeting her too much, she still made quite an impact on me which is definitely something worth mentioning. And I still like Nash.

Considering how difficult it was for me to put this series down for just a little while during March, I am very much looking forward to picking back up with My Soul to Keep!

The Soul Screamers series:

0.5. My Soul to Lose
1. My Soul to Take
2. My Soul to Save
3. My Soul to Keep
3.5. Reaper
4. My Soul to Steal
5. If I Die
5.5. Never to Sleep
6. Before I Wake
7. With All My Soul